Log Out

Appalachian String Band Festival winners announced

By Staff reports
CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- The 23rd annual Appalachian String Band Music Festival was held at Camp Washington-Carver in Clifftop on Aug. 1-5. Winners of its contests were: 
  • Banjo: first: Mac Traynham, Willis, Va.; second: Mike Kropp, Wyoming, R.I.; third: Joseph DeCosimo, Jonesborough, Tenn.; fourth: Luke Richardson, Lawrenceburg, Tenn.; fifth: Lynn "Chirps" Smith, Whitewater, Wis.
  • Youth banjo (ages 15 and under): first: Victor Furtado, Front Royal, Va.; second: Lulu Furtado, Front Royal, Va.; third: John Vance Jr., Chapel Hill, N.C.
  • Senior banjo (ages 60 and up): first: Mike Kropp, Wyoming, R.I.; second: Carl Baron, Ambler, Pa.; third: Bertram Levy, Port Townsend, Wash.
  • Fiddle: first: Emily Schaad, Poughkeepsie, N.Y.; second: Stephanie Coleman, Brooklyn, N.Y.; third: Jake Krack, Marlinton, W.Va.; fourth: Grace Forrest, Big Sur, Calif.; fifth: John Engle, Asheville, N.C.
  • Youth fiddle: first: Nina DeVitry, Columbia, Pa.; second: Andrew Vogts, Chadds Ford, Pa.; third: Kitty Amaral, Elk Creek, Va.
  • senior fiddle: first: Paul Brown, Winston-Salem, N.C.; second: Henry T. Fiddler, Arvada, Colo.; third: Jim Childress, Free Union, Va.
  • Neo-traditional band: first: Drunken Catfish Ramblers, Fayetteville, Ark.; second: Critton Hallow, Paw Paw, W.Va.; third: The Olds 78s and the Retro Ramblers, Kingston, Ark.; fourth: Westbound Rangers, Nashville, Tenn.; fifth: Jubal's Kin, Longwood, Fla.
  • Youth neo-traditional band: Davy Jones' Evidence Locker, Elkins, W.Va..
  • Traditional band: first: The Bucking Mules, Jonesborough, Tenn.; second: Nervous Tick and the Bites, Galax, Va.; third: The Cork Burners, Eunice, La.; fourth: White Mule, Bloomington, Ind.; fifth: Sweet T and the Twisted Lemons, Vinton, Va.
  • Youth traditional band: Lyin' Lizzy and the Psycho Exploding Orangutans, Front Royal, Va.
  • Best Original Song: Rangers, Nashville, Tenn.
  • Best Original Tune: Jubal's Kin, Longwood, Fla.
  • Youth old-time flatfoot dance: first: Rebecca Molaro, Asheville, N.C.; second: Jeffrey Amundsen, Longwood, Fla.; third: Mattie Amundsen, Longwood, Fla.
  • Old-time flatfoot dance (age 16-40): first: Sarah Josephine Stewart, Charlottesville, Va.; second: Clay Sutton, Marshall, N.C.; third: Elizabeth Laprell, Rural Retreat, Va.
  • Old-time flatfoot dance (age 41-59): first: Jay Bland, Kennesaw, Ga.; second: Gordon Hinners, Weaverville, N.C.; third: Abby Laiden, Bloomington, Ind.
  • Senior old-time flatfoot dance: first: Rodney Sutton, Marshall, N.C.; second: Marilyn Branch, Kalamazoo, Mich.; third: Maureen Busch-Terman, Morgantown, W.Va.
  • Show All Comments Hide All Comments

    User Comments

    More News