Three state schools honored for achievements

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- The U.S. Department of Education has named three West Virginia schools as 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools. The agency announced the awards Friday. The schools are Bridgeport Middle School, Confidence Elementary School in Putnam County and Kenna Elementary School in Charleston. They're among 269 schools recognized nationwide.
The program recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools that are either high performing or have raised student achievement to high levels, particularly for disadvantaged students. The schools will be recognized at a ceremony in November in Washington, D.C. The Blue Ribbon program began in 1982.
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News