Log Out

Five counties added to state gypsy moth quarantine

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Five counties have been added to West Virginia's gypsy moth quarantine area.The state Department of Agriculture says McDowell, Mercer, Raleigh, Summers and Wyoming counties were added after surveys documented the presence of egg masses. Forty-four counties are now regulated the gypsy moth quarantine.
The quarantine requires an inspection before trees, shrubs, logs, pulpwood and wood chips, and mobile homes and associated materials can be transported into a non-invested area.The gypsy moth is a non-native caterpillar that has become established in most of the northeastern United States. It feeds on more than 500 species of trees and shrubs but prefers the leaves of oak trees, West Virginia's predominant forest tree. 
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News