Create WV names award winners ahead of luncheon

By Staff reports
CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Create West Virginia has named seven outstanding contributors to the state's creative community, to be honored Friday at the Create WV Conference luncheon in Charleston. The Creative Cone award winners include:* Dave Arnold, Jeff Proctor and Doug Proctor of Lansing, Fayette County, who founded a whitewater rafting company that has become one of the nation's top five outdoor adventure destinations* Dale Hawkins of Rock Cave, Upshur County, a chef who has been instrumental in creating the concept of New Appalachian cuisine and is a pioneer in the farm-to-table movement* Michael Lipton of Charleston, who founded the West Virginia Music Hall of Fame* Mark Swiger, a Marshall County high school teacher who promotes green and sustainable entrepreneurial endeavors through curriculum development on national and local levels
* Woody Woods, a Kanawha County radio personality and entrepreneur who encourages urban entrepreneurship and hip-hop talent development  The Creative Cone tradition involves highway cones given to distinguish highly creative contributors who are building West Virginia's entrepreneurial economy.People who are not registered for the entire conference are invited to attend the Friday celebration luncheon at a cost of $35. For information about the Create West Virginia Conference, visit   
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News