Log Out

State honors exemplary schools

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Ten Kanawha County schools have earned exemplary status from the Office of Education Performance Audits.Exemplary schools include: Chamberlain Elementary School, Holz Elementary School, Kenna Elementary School, Montrose Elementary School, Nitro High School, Overbrook Elementary School, Weberwood Elementary School, Horace Mann Middle School, John Adams Middle School and George Washington High School.Kenna Elementary is also recognized as a National Blue Ribbon School for achieving in the top 15 percent on standardized tests in the state. Schools can also receive Blue Ribbon status if more than 40 percent of the student body comes from disadvantaged backgrounds and have shown drastic improvement.
Confidence Elementary School, in Putnam County, and Bridgeport Middle School, in Harrison County, also received Blue Ribbon status.The three are among 269 schools nationwide to be awarded a Blue Ribbon award. 
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News