Log Out

22 counties still under state of emergency

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- More than 20 West Virginia counties will remain under an emergency declaration until Dec. 21.Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin declared a state of emergency for all 55 counties on Oct. 29, ahead of the full brunt of Superstorm Sandy.Tomblin extended the emergency declaration on Wednesday for 22 counties. He says in a news release that these counties need more time and help to recover from the storm.
The governor lifted the declaration for the remaining 33 counties.Tomblin says his goal is to restore "everyday life to the entire state" no later than Dec. 21.Counties remaining under the emergency declaration are: Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Clay, Fayette, Grant, Greenbrier, Kanawha, Lewis, Marshall, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Preston, Raleigh, Randolph, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Upshur, Webster and Wyoming.
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News