Log Out

Disaster SNAP funds offered in 16 W.Va. counties

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- The Department of Health and Human Resources is offering replacement food-stamp benefits to people in 16 counties hit by the severe storm that tore across West Virginia on June 29.It will start accepting applications for the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or D-SNAP, on Monday and take them through Dec. 2.The affected counties are: Boone, Cabell, Clay, Greenbrier, Jackson, Lincoln, Mason, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, McDowell, Pocahontas, Roane, Tyler, Webster and Wood.
Anyone who lost access to checking accounts, had unreimbursed expenses or lost income could be eligible.People who haven't already requested supplements for June must complete an affidavit, and those who get the maximum benefit are not eligible for supplemental benefits.All D-SNAP applications will be checked for duplication. Violating the rules could mean disqualification from the program.
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News