Feds declare Sandy disaster in 18 W.Va. counties

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- President Obama has issued a disaster declaration to help 18 West Virginia counties recover from damage caused by superstorm Sandy.The declaration announced Tuesday by the White House makes federal funding available to local governments and certain private nonprofit groups in the 18 counties, as well as state government. The funding will be provided on a cost-sharing basis.
Funding for hazard-mitigation measures statewide also is available on a cost-sharing basis.Counties included in the declaration are Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Clay, Fayette, Kanawha, Lewis, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Preston, Raleigh, Randolph, Taylor, Tucker, Upshur, Webster and Wyoming.
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News