FEMA extends deadline for state storm losses

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- The clock is ticking for West Virginia residents seeking federal assistance for losses from powerful summer storms.The deadline to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency is Dec. 19. Residents in the following counties are eligible: Boone, Cabell, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Roane, Tyler, Webster and Wood.
A June 29 derecho and subsequent storms left three people dead and more than 680,000 customers without electricity across the state.FEMA extended the deadline because many who were affected by the derecho also suffered through Hurricane Sandy. 
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News