Log Out

Dunbar resident chose candidates for mayor general election

By Staff reports
Democrat Terry Greenlee will face Republican Michael Hall in the mayor's race for Dunbar's general election on June 4.Residents chose a replacement for Dunbar Mayor Jack Yeager, who isn't running for re-election, in the city's primary Saturday.On the Democratic side, former state delegate Ramona Cerra Ward lost the mayor spot to Greenlee, Dunbar public works director, by more than 300 votes.Incumbent City Clerk Ross Harrison, a Republican, faced no opposition in the primary. He will face Democrat Connie Fulknier, who also has no opposition, in the general election.
Dunbar is divided into four wards, each with two council representatives. In the First Ward, Democratic incumbent Rick Fields and Pam Reynolds are on the ticket. They will face Republican Steve Arnott in June.On the Second Ward Democratic ticket, three candidates will compete for the two available council seats. Sam Gassaway, Doug Fleishman and Dana Hayes are running. The winners will face Republican incumbent Harold Craigo in June.In the Third Ward, Democratic incumbent Tom Bailey and Republican incumbent Connie Thompson face no opposition.In the city's Fourth Ward, incumbent council members Gail Harper and Everette Sullivan, both Democrats, are on the ticket. They will face no Republican opposition in June.Residents also overwhelmingly passed a levy that would provide approximately $4 million to the Dunbar Fire Department over a five-year period.
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News