Mayor Callaway re-elected in St. Albans general election

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Voters in St. Albans re-elected Mayor Dick Callaway during the city's general election Saturday.Callaway received 676 votes and his newcomer opponent, Scott Russell, received 382 votes.Callaway thanked his supporters and thanked Russell, who campaigned on fixing the city's crumbling sidewalks and water systems and bringing in new businesses."I appreciate my fellow candidate for bringing up some issues he felt was important," Callaway said. "Now we have an opportunity to address them."Russell said he's disappointed in the loss and disappointed that more people didn't vote. The city has 8,060 registered voters and 1,068 people cast ballots Saturday night. He said he met thousands of people while campaigning, the majority of which disapproved of Callaway's leadership."The way our town is run right now, it's going to stay that way," Russell said. "People just don't care about St. Albans."Callaway promised to address Russell's concerns and to secure grants repairing the city's sidewalks. Callaway now begins his eighth year as mayor.
Russell criticized Callaway's promise and said Callaway had opportunities to fix the city's sidewalks and put in new businesses seven years ago. He plans to stay active in the community and to work on attracting new stores and restaurants.Russell said he's done with mayoral races and will campaign again in four years for West Virginia governor."My plan all along was to run for mayor of St. Albans and then next to run for governor," he said. "And why not? I'm a down to earth guy."Also elected Saturday were council-at-large candidates John Boles and Jerry C. Cogar, both incumbents, and newcomer John D. Caudill.Dunbar is divided into nine wards, each with one council representative. Only one ward, Ward Nine, was contested. Newcomer Garry Pennington received more votes than Shelly Ellis, a write-in challenger.Candidates for the other eight wards faced no opposition. Incumbent Robert J. Keiffer was re-elected in the First Ward; newcomer Jason Philabaun was elected in the Second Ward; incumbent Ron Colby was reelected in the Third Ward; incumbent Cheryl Thomas was re-elected in the Fourth Ward; incumbent Dan Cain Sr. was re-elected in the Fifth Ward; incumbent Loretta Griffth was re-elected in the Sixth Ward; incumbent Desper Lemon was re-elected in the Seventh Ward; and incumbent Kevin W. Pennington was re-elected in the Eighth Ward.Reach Travis Crum at or 304-348-5163.
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News