Log Out

GW's Switzer repeats as MSAC player of year

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- George Washington's Ryan Switzer has been named the Mountain State Athletic Conference's football player of the year for the second consecutive season.Class AAA state runner-up Cabell Midland landed the most players on the first team list with running backs David Gaydosz and Lowell Farley, tackle Josh Baisden, kicker Chris Molina and defensive lineman Gage Gould. Knights coach Luke Salmons was named MSAC coach of the year after guiding Midland to a 10-0 regular-season record, a conference championship and the state title game.GW (including Switzer), South Charleston, Woodrow Wilson and Capital each had four players named to the first team. For a full list of All-MSAC honorees, see Page 2B.
  • ALL-MSAC VOLLEYBALL: Cabell Midland's Cassie Weaver was named the MSAC's volleyball player of the year. Weaver, who was also named the state player of the year, has committed to continue her volleyball career at Marshall.
  • Woodrow Wilson's Shirley Brown and Riverside's Christina Phalen shared conference coach of the year honors. Class AAA state champion George Washington landed three players on the all conference teams, with Hannah Shreve and Lexi Mourier named to the first team and Sydney Downey the second team.For a full list of the All-MSAC volleyball teams, see Page 2B.
  • ALL-MSAC CHEER: Winfield's Mary Jane Anderson was selected as the Mountain State Ahtletic Conference's coach of the year. For a list of the complete team, see Page 2B.
    Show All Comments Hide All Comments

    User Comments

    More News