Log Out

WL's Crutchfield, Falk win WVC men's honors

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- West Liberty coach Jim Crutchfield picked up his fifth West Virginia Conference coach of the year award in nine years and fourth in a row as the league announced its men's basketball awards and all-conference teams on Monday.Crutchfield has led the Hilltoppers to a 27-1 record and a 21-1 mark in the league this season and the team's fourth-straight regular-season conference crown.West Liberty is ranked No. 3 in the National Association of Basketball Coaches' Division II poll and is averaging a robust 105.5 points per game while outscoring its opponents by 26 points per contest.Another large part of West Liberty's success this season is senior guard Alex Falk, who earned the conference's player of the year honor on Monday.Falk is fourth in the WVC in scoring with 20.7 points per game while leading the league in steals with 3.11 per contest. He is also seventh in the league in assist-to-turnover ratio and 11th in free throw percentage, and is second on the Hilltoppers' with 48 offensive rebounds this season.Wheeling Jesuit's Justin Fritts was the only non-Hilltopper to pick up an individual award, winning freshman of the year honors.
Fritts is 14th in the league in scoring at 15.9 points per game and second on his team in assists at 3.2 per game. He also shoots a healthy 50.2 percent from the field.Falk is joined by teammate Cedric Harris (junior guard) on the league's first team, making the Hilltoppers the only squad to land multiple players on the list.Charleston junior point guard Terrell Lipkins also made the list after leading the Golden Eagles in points per game (17.1), assists per game (4.6) and steals (58).Also on the first team was Alderson-Broaddus senior guard Kurklin Bohanan, Shepherd senior forward Chad Moore, Pitt-Johnstown senior guard Nick Novak, Jesuit senior guard Ben Siefert, Fairmont State senior guard Isaac Thornton and West Virginia Wesleyan senior forward Kelsey Williams.UC's Evan Faulkner made the honorable mention list, as did West Virginia State's Anton Hutchins. 
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News