Roundup: State Short Course swim championships start today

The Huntington Y Charleston Aquatic Team will be seeking its 40th straight West Virginia Short Course swimming championship during competition beginning today at the Marshall natatorium in Huntington.Approximately 300 swimmers representing 12 different teams from Ohio, Pennsylvania and West Virginia will compete with preliminaries at 6:15 p.m. today (ages 11 and over age groups), 9 a.m. Friday (all age groups) and 8:45 a.m. Saturday and Sunday (all age groups). The final starting times are set for 6:15 p.m. Friday and Saturday and 5:15 p.m. Sunday for all age groups except 8 and under.The 110 HYCAT swimmers feature Nate and Morgan Carr, who were 2012 U.S. Olympic Trial participants, and Short Course Y National qualifiers Anna Davis, Emily Hageboeck, Zach Kidd, Jacob Nason and Nathan Runyon.
  • nn
  • WVU SPORTS: Eleven student-athletes from West Virginia University were recipients of the third annual Dr. Gerald Lage Award on Wednesday, which is given out by the Big 12 Conference.Mountaineers' Sarah-Anne Brault, Kaitlyn Gillespie, Jordan Hamric and Aubrey Moskal (track and field-cross country), Liz Gulick (volleyball), Jess Harlee (women's basketball), Emily Mathis (tennis), Ryan  Nehlen (football), Rachelle Purych and Danika Rencken (rowing) and Frances Silva (women's soccer) were honored with the conference's highest academic honor.
    In all, 75 Big 12 student-athletes received the recognition with Baylor earning the most at 14. The award is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and Big Eight-Big 12 Conferences from 1983-2007.
  • Six wrestlers from WVU were named to the Academic All-Big 12 team Wednesday. Mountaineers' Amador Ayala, Michael Bolash, Lance Bryson and Phil Mandzik were first-team honorees while Nathan Pennesi and Jeffrey Yeatman were second-team selections.
  • WVU's half-dozen picks were the most in the conference. First-team members are those who maintained a 3.20 grade-point average or higher while the second teamers hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.
  • nn
  • YOUTH BASKETBALL: The Nitro fifth-grade girls all-star basketball team finished the season with a 12-0 record during the regular season and tournament.The coaches were Linwood Cuffee and Crystal Legros while the players were Briana Curry, Myra Cuffee, Nadia Legros, Melanie Hill, Leslie Greene, Bailey Young, Baylee Goins and Rieli Abbott.
    Show All Comments Hide All Comments

    User Comments

    More News