Log Out

WVU's Kilicli, Harris named All-Big 12 honorable mention

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Senior Deniz Kilicli and freshman Eron Harris represented West Virginia University on the all-Big 12 Conference team announced Sunday, earning honorable mention recognition.Kilicli, a 6-foot-9 forward from Istanbul, Turkey, and Harris, a 6-2 guard from Indianapolis, were the only Mountaineers named to any of the all-conference teams.Harris led the Mountaineers in scoring, averaging 9.9 points per game. He also hit a team-high 43 3-point goals while starting only 16 games. Kilicli averaged 8.9 points and 4.4 rebounds in his final season as a Mountaineer.
The first-team was comprised of a pair of Kansas players, freshman Ben McLemore and senior Jeff Withey, Kansas State's Rodney McGruder, Oklahoma's Romero Osby and Big 12 Player of the Year Marcus Smart of Oklahoma State.Smart, a freshman, became only the third player in league history to be honored as the player of the year and freshman of the year in the same season, joining Texas' Kevin Durant (2006-07) and K-State's Michael Beasley (2007-08).Kansas State's Bruce Weber was named coach of the year, while Withey was honored as the league's top defender. Other award winners included a trio of Iowa State players - Will Clyburn (Newcomer of the Year), Iowa State's Tyrus McGee (Sixth Man Award) and Melvin Ejim (Scholar-Athlete of the Year).The second team featured Baylor's Pierre Jackson, Clyburn, Kansas's Travis Releford, Kansas State's Angel Rodriguez and Oklahoma State's Markel Brown. The third team was made up of Ejim, Baylor's Isaiah Austin, Oklahoma's Arnath M'Baye and Steven Pledger, and Oklahoma State's Le'Bryan Nash.
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News