Log Out

Greenbrier Classic: How they qualified

Here is the order used to fill the 156-man field for the fourth Greenbrier Classic (qualifiers listed only in their top category):1. Winners of PGA Championship (2008-12) or U.S. Open (2009-13): Lucas Glover, Webb Simpson2. Winners of The Players Championship, 2008-13: K.J. Choi3. Winners of the Masters, 2008-13: Phil Mickelson, Bubba Watson, Trevor Immelman4. Winners of the British Open, 2008-12: Louis Oosthuizen5. Winners of the Tour Championship, 2010-12: Bill Haas6. Winners of World Golf Championships events 2010-13: Nick Watney7. Leader from the final FedExCup points list 2008-12: Vijay Singh8. Leader from final PGA Tour money list 2008-12: (none)9. Winners of PGA Tour events 2011-13; winners receive an additional year of exemption for each additional win, up to five years: Stephen Ames, Aaron Baddeley, Charlie Beljan, Jonas Blixt, Michael Bradley, Scott Brown, Jonathan Byrd, Ben Crane, Ben Curtis, Ken Duke, Tommy Gainey, Brian Gay, Russell Henley, J.J. Henry, Billy Horschel, George McNeill, Bryce Molder, Sean O'Hair, Kenny Perry, Carl Pettersson, Scott Piercy, D.A. Points, Ted Potter Jr., Rory Sabbatini, Scott Stallings, Kyle Stanley, Brendan Steele, Johnson Wagner, Boo Weekley, Gary Woodland 10a. Players using one-time exemption for being top-50 in career earnings: Stuart Appleby10b. Players using one-time exemption for being top-25 in career earnings: Justin Leonard, Mike Weir11a. Sponsor exemptions (Tour members): John Daly, Jordan Spieth11b. Sponsor exemptions (unrestricted): Pat Carter (2012 West Virginia Amateur), Mark Silvers (Big Break Greenbrier), Michael Kim12. Two international players designated by commissioner: (none)
13. Current PGA Club Professional champion, max 6 events: (none)14. Tri-State PGA player of the year: Kevin Shields15. Four low scorers at open qualifier: (determined Monday)16. Past Greenbrier Classic champions, 2008-12: (none)17. Life members (15 years on tour, 20 career wins): Tom Watson, Davis Love III18. Top 30 on 2012 FedExCup points list: John Senden
19. Top 125 on 2012 money list, in order: Brendon de Jonge, Matt Every, Charlie Wi, Bud Cauley, Jimmy Walker, Seung-Yul Noh, Jeff Overton, Ryan Palmer, Brian Davis, Charles Howell III, Dicky Pride, Tom Gillis, William McGirt, Cameron Tringale, Troy Matteson, Greg Chalmers, Greg Owen, Brian Harman, Daniel Summerhays, Pat Perez, Graham DeLaet, Martin Flores, David Hearn, Josh Teater, Bob Estes, Andres Romero, Chad Campbell, Colt Knost, Robert Allenby, Ricky Barnes, Jason Bohn, Will Claxton, Roberto Castro, Jason Kokrak, David Mathis, James Driscoll, Jeff Maggert, Kevin Chappell20. Players in the top 125 on 2012 money list as non-members: Peter Hanson, Ryo Ishikawa21. Eligible by major medical extension: Steve Marino, Scott Verplank, Joey Snyder III, Jesper Parnevik22. Leading 2012 money winner, Tour: Casey Wittenberg23. Leading money winner, Tour, medical extension: (none)24. Top 10 and ties from professionals in previous tournament (Travelers Championship): Morgan Hoffman25. Those earning cards from 2012 qualifying tournament or Tour, in reshuffled order (* rookies): David Lingmerth*, Luke Guthrie*, James Hahn*, Brian Stuard, Richard H. Lee, Matt Jones, Patrick Reed, Erik Compton, Justin Bolli, Scott Langley*, Nicholas Thompson, Shawn Stefani*, Fabian Gomez, Robert Karlsson, Chez Reavie, Ben Kohles*, D.H. Lee*, Brad Fritsch*, Robert Streb*, Bobby Gates, Doug LaBelle II, Henrik Norlander*, Tag Ridings, Steve LeBrun*, Luke List*, Aaron Watkins, Scott Gardiner*, Darron Stiles, Cameron Percy, Steven Bowditch, Lee Williams*, Alistair Presnell*, Jin Park, Eric Meierdirks*, Jim Herman, Paul Haley II*, Andrew Svoboda*, Michael Letzig, Neal Lancaster, Jeff Gove, Andres Gonzales, Donald Constable*, Si Woo Kim*26-28: (none)29. 126th through 150th on 2012 money list: Rod Pampling, Bill Lunde, Billy Mayfair, Tim Petrovic, Gary Christian, Vaughn Taylor, Heath Slocum, D.J. Trahan
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News