Log Out

Gazette Sportsmen of the Year, 2000-13

2013 — Jimbo FisherClarksburg, Liberty High; led Florida Stateto BCS national championship game2012 — Nick SabanFirst repeat winner; led Alabamato BCS national championship (he won it in January)2011 — Chris WallaceBuckhannon; as general manager,took Memphis Grizzlies to first playoff series win2010 — Bob HugginsMorgantown, WVU; took Mountaineersto first Final Four since 19592009 — Renee Montgomery Capital, South Charleston High; Won NCAA championship with Connecticut, named to WNBA all-rookie team2008 — Alexis Hornbuckle
Capital, South Charleston High; won NCAA titlewith Tennessee, WNBA title with Detroit Shock2007 — Randy MossRand, Marshall; Resurrected career by leading
New England Patriots on road to Super Bowl2006 — Nick Swisher
Parkersburg High; hit 35 home runs in leadingOakland Athletics to AL Championship Series2005 — Mike D'AntoniMullens, Marshall; led Phoenix Suns toWestern Conference finals with run-and-gun style2004 — Girls basketballAlexis Hornbuckle, Renee Montgomery, Megan Withrow lead a surge in Kanawha Valley talent2003 — Rich RodriguezGrant Town; led WVU to second postseason Top 25  ranking in a row, berth in Gator Bowl2002 — Rod ThornPrinceton WVU; as general manager,led New Jersey Nets to NBA Finals2001 — Nick SabanMonongah High; led struggling LSUto SEC championship and Sugar Bowl2000 — Brett NelsonSt. Albans; helped lead Florida to Final Four
Show All Comments Hide All Comments

User Comments

More News