Roundup: Poca lands 4 on All-Cardinal first team

HERD BASEBALL: WVU SPORTS: The West Virginia gymnastics team will send four members to compete as individual qualifiers at the NCAA Athens Regional championships at 4 p.m. today at the University of Georgia’s Stegeman Coliseum. Senior Hope Sloanhoffer and freshman Nicolette Swoboda will compete in the all-around, while junior Beth Deal will compete on the balance beam and freshman Alexa Goldberg will compete on the uneven bars. The top two teams, as well as the top two all-around competitors and event champions not on an advancing team, will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships April 18-20 at the University of Alabama in Birmingham.

TECH SPORTS: AREA TENNIS: VAD TICKETS SELLING: Tickets for the 68th annual Victory Awards Dinner are on sale through April 28 at newspapers around the state. No tickets are sold at the door.

The event sponsored by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association is the nation’s oldest statewide sports fete and will be held on May 4 at the Charleston Civic Center. Start time is 4 p.m.

Honorees include the two newest inductees into the West Virginia Sports Hall of Fame, retired Marshall football coach Bob Pruett and International Tennis Hall of Famer Peachy Kellmeyer; Hardman Award winner Rakeem Cato of Marshall; Kennedy Award winner Chazzy Thomas of Morgantown; Huff Award winner Geremy Paige of Wheeling Park; Hunt Award winner James Walton of Capital; Evans Award winner Jon Elmore of George Washington; Ostrowski Award winner Mychal Johnson of St. Joseph; McCoy Award winners Dante Price of Jefferson and Emily Godwin of Buckhannon; Dutton Award winner Dalton George of Williamstown; Baseball Player of the Year Daniel Heleine of Hedgesville; Morehouse Award winner Rick McCann of the Huntington Herald-Dispatch; state championship coaches; and first-team all-staters in football, boys and girls basketball.

Also honored will be two Coaches of the Year — the Furfari Award for college plus the High School Coach of the Year. Both will be announced in the next couple of weeks.

Tickets are available from the following newspaper sports departments: Charleston Gazette (Rick Ryan, Mitch Vingle); Charleston Daily Mail (Derek Taylor); Huntington Herald-Dispatch (Rick McCann); Parkersburg Sentinel (Dave Poe); Beckley Register-Herald (Cam Huffman); Bluefield Daily Telegraph (Brian Woodson); Clarksburg Exponent-Telegram (Chris Johnson); Fairmont Times-West Virginian (Cliff Nichols); Morgantown Dominion-Post (Drew Rubenstein); Martinsburg Journal (Rick Kozlowski); and Wheeling Newspapers (Dave Morrison).

More News