Log Out

Roundup: Marshall Athletics reveals Hall class

The Marshall Athletics Hall of Fame Committee announced that seven former Herd athletes will be inducted into this year’s Hall of Fame class.

Inductees include Tyrone Collins (basketball, 1970-73), David Coyle (wrestling, 1977-79), Sierra Davenport (softball, 2001-04), Albie DeYoung (baseball, 1975-78), Lindsay Jayjack (soccer, 1999-2002), Darius Watts (football, 2000-03) and Milan Zban (baseball, football, 1951-54).

The annual Hall of Fame dinner is scheduled for Sept. 12 at 7 p.m., in the Don Morris Room of the Marshall University Memorial Student Center. Tickets are $30 each and are available through the Marshall University Ticket Office, at or by calling 1-800-THE-HERD.

▪ ▪ ▪

LIGHTNING RANKED: The West Virginia Lightning, a minor league football team based in Charleston, is currently ranked No. 2 in the Eastern Red Power Ratings of an amateur ratings system.

The Lightning is ranked there within the Amateur Football Ratings report. Within its World Class Football League conference, West Virginia is tied with the Morgantown Bobcats at 8-0.

The Lightning is scheduled to host the East Tennessee Spartans at 7:30 p.m. Saturday at the DuPont Middle School field.

▪ ▪ ▪

WVU SOCCER: Three members of the West Virginia women’s soccer team opened camp with the Canadian Women’s under-20 team on Sunday at Fortius Sport and Health Complex in Burnaby, British Columbia.

Rising sophomores Kadeisha Buchanan (defender) and Ashley Lawrence (midfielder), along with redshirt freshman Amandine Pierre-Louis (forward), join 16 players for the 10-day camp in preparation for the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada, set for Aug. 5-24.

The squad will face Korea Republic for a pair of closed-door U-20 Women’s International Friendly matches on June 7 and June 10.

▪ ▪ ▪

AREA GOLF: Colin Bowles of Oceana fired a 3-under par 68 to capture the low round of the day along with the first-place trophy in the 13-14 age group Monday at the Callaway Junior Tour at Oglebay Resort in Wheeling.

Clark Craig of Fairmont won the 12 and under boys division with a 79, while Sam Romine of Martinsburg was the 17-18 champion, and Peyton Moore of St Marys took home the 15-16 first place trophy. Lizzy Douglas of Wheeling was the champion in the 15-18 Girls division. (See results, Page 2B)

OPEN CUP SOCCER: Twenty champions were crowned Sunday at the West Virginia Soccer Association Open Cup tournament at the Barboursville Soccer Complex.

In the recreational division, Taylor County Soccer Association took home the most championships with two (under-10 girls and under-10 boys), while the West Virginia Rapids claimed three championships in the club division (under-9 boys, under-17 boys, under-19 boys).

Over 100 teams from across the state took part in the two day tournament in Barboursville.

▪ ▪ ▪

SCHOLARSHIP WINNER: The Kanawha Valley Umpire’s Association Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Josh Burks of St. Albans High School.

The $500 scholarship is awarded annually to a graduating senior baseball player in the Kanawha Valley.

More News