Log Out

Handgun reciprocity agreement reached with Nebraska

By Staff reports

Nebraska is now the 36th state where a West Virginia resident with a valid concealed weapons permit may legally carry a concealed handgun.

State Attorney General Patrick Morrisey announced in a news release Monday that a reciprocity agreement had been reached with officials in Nebraska recognizing concealed weapons permits from both states. A reciprocity agreement means that officials in Nebraska recognize a West Virginia permit, and West Virginia officials recognize a permit from Nebraska.

Since July 2013, seven states have been added to the list of states where West Virginians with a valid concealed weapons permit may carry concealed.

Thirty-one states either recognize West Virginia permits or have reciprocity agreements with West Virginia, including Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia and Wyoming.

West Virginians may also carry concealed in Indiana, Montana, Nevada, Vermont and Wisconsin, subject to the limitations of the laws in those states.

More News