Essential reporting in volatile times.

Not a Subscriber yet? Click here to take advantage of All access digital limited time offer $5.99 per month EZ Pay.

Interested in Donating? Click #ISupportLocal for more information on supporting local journalism.

Prep baseball2.jpg

All-MSAC team

Special awards

Player of the year – Jake Carr (St. Albans); Coach of the year – Kyle Root, Capital

First team

Catcher – Tanner Akers (Spring Valley); Pitcher – Jonathan Blackwell (Hurricane), Ayden Hodges (St. Albans), Chad Heiner (Cabell Midland), Cody Sharp (Spring Valley); First base – Noah Cummings (St. Albans); Second base – Tyler Cox (Hurricane); Third base – Aidan Johnson (George Washington); Shortstop – Tyler Atkinson (South Charleston); Outfield – Easton Petitt (Cabell Midland), Andrew Sydenstricker (Capital), Austin Dearing (Hurricane), Hunter Fansler (Woodrow Wilson); Designated hitter – Nick Loftis (St. Albans); Utility – Cam Thomas (Capital)

Second team

Catcher – Braeden Gaul (Huntington), Jake Petry (Riverside); Pitcher – Trey Ritchie (George Washington), Connor Fizer (St. Albans), Drew Elkins (Cabell Midland), Chris Buchanan (Riverside); First base – Wyatt Milum (Spring Valley); Second base – Hunter Tolliver (Woodrow Wilson); Third base – Hunter Bellomy (Spring Valley); Shortstop – Brayden McCallister (George Washington); Outfield – Preston Taylor (George Washington), Tyrus Baumgardner (Spring Valley), Charlie Pierson (Riverside), Logan Spurlock (Capital), Nathan Lindenmuth (Parkersburg); Designated hitter – Blake Tilley (Cabell Midland); Utility – Max Anderson (Parkersburg), Joel Gardner (Hurricane)

Special honorable mention

Jacob Lovell (Woodrow Wilson); Owen Moore (Capital), Enzo Lewis (Hurricane), Nolan Brace (Parkersburg), Michael Stuck (Capital); Casey Kemplin (St. Albans), Blake Wentz (Riverside)

Honorable mention

Peyton Weekley (Cabell Midland), Grant Fenwick (George Washington), Jacob Sheets (Woodrow Wilson), Darin Flowers (St. Albans), Jonathan Gabbard (Riverside), Nevin Moore (Capital), Brenden Lewis (Hurricane), Diallo Mitchell (Huntington), Seth Damron (Spring Valley)