Prep soccer2.jpg

MORGANTOWN — Joe Biafora has long been a leader. The senior led an undefeated University squad to the boys soccer state tournament in Beckley, where the Hawks narrowly lost to George Washington in the semifinals.

His prowess as a leader, as well as his 49 goals, have been recognized by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association as Biafora has been named the captain of the Class AAA All-State first team.

Biafora’s teammate Mason Shockley joins the captain on the first team as a midfielder. Rounding out the group of midfielders are Ryan Fisher (Hurricane, 21 goals and 17 assists), Chris Romanek (Wheeling Park, nine goals and eight assists) and Broedy Boyce (Ripley, 22 goals and 27 assists).

Joining Biafora up front are forwards Chance Anderson (George Washington), Davisson Flint (Ripley, 31 goals and 13 assists) and Drake Lester (Hurricane, 21 goals and 17 assists).

Cade Fix (Princeton, 8 goals and 3 assists), Zak Abdul-Jalil (George Washington) and Bohdi Fritzsch (Hedgesville) were selected as the first-team defenders, while goalkeepers Zach Calvert (Wheeling Park, nine shutouts), Jacob McKnight (Parkersburg, .6 goals per game average) and Nick Eskins (Hurricane, 14 shutouts) round out the first-team position players.

Louis Aulick (Wheeling Park, 25 goals and six assists) and Owen Stoll (Huntington, 15 goals and seven assists) also secured utility positions, rounding out the first team.

The second team is comprised of forwards Noah Carney, the second-team captain (George Washington), Isaiah Owen (Parkersburg), Drew Hopkins (Princeton) and Montgomery Rebelo (Preston); midfielders Colton Jones (Hurricane), Simon Anton (Cabell Midland), Nick Hawkins (Parkersburg South) and Ryan Hurst (Buckhannon-Upshur); defenders Clay Meredith (Wheeling Park), Perrin Schray (Huntington), Pierce Spain (University); goalkeeper Chase Hawkins (Parkersburg South); and utility players Alik Assi (Hurricane), Tyler Bubb (Hedgesville), Josh Ferguson (Brooke) and Nathan Williams (Woodrow Wilson).